2016-17 Council Members

The Public School Partnership Coordinating Council consists of approximately 33 members representing faculty (public school and university), principals, and central office personnel from each LEA. The Council determines the projects of the Partnership and develops strategies for successful completion. The Council meets quarterly each year. Additional meetings may be called when necessary.

Council members are chosen by the membership LEAs to serve as long as they are willing to serve. The chairperson will be chosen each year by vote of the Council.

Alexander County

Dr. Bill Vinson

Teacher
Alexander Central High
223 School Drive 
Taylorsville, NC 28681
828-632-7063
bvinson@alexander.k12.nc.us

Mary Brown

Principal
Wittenburg Elementary School 
7330 Church Road 
Taylorsville, NC 28681
828-632-2395
mbrown@alexander.k12.nc.us

Teresa Smeeks

Central Office
Alexander County Schools
700 Liledoun Rd.
Taylorsville, NC 28681

828-632-7001 (P)
tsmeeks@alexander.k12.nc.us

Alleghany County

Beth Dalton

3rd Grade Teacher at Sparta Elementary School

Alleghany County Schools
450 N. Main Street
Sparta, NC 28675

hurleyb@alleghany.k12.nc.us

 

Diane Haynes

Principal of Sparta Elementary School
450 N. Main Street

Sparta, NC 28675
(336-372-8546) (P)
haynesdm@allleghany.k12.nc.us

Brent Long

Piney Creek Elementary

559 Piney Creek School Rd.

Piney Creek, NC 28663

336-359-2988 (P)

brentlong@alleghany.k12.nc.us

Appalachian State University

Diana Beasley

Director of Teacher Education Recruitment
Appalachian State University
JET Building
828-262-8554
beasleydf@appstate.edu

 

 

 

 

Dr. Tracie Salinas

Math Department
Appalachian State University
Walker Hall
828-262-3050
salinastm@appstate.edu

Dr. Phillip E. Johnson

Math and Science Education Center
Appalachian State University
Reich College of Education
828-262-3185
johnsnpe@appstate.edu

Christy Chenausky

Director
Arts Education and Outreach
Appalachian State University
828-262-6084
chenauskyc@appstate.edu

Dr. Holly Thornton

Curriculum & Instruction

Appalachian State University 

RCOE

Boone, NC 28608

828-262-8007 (P)

thorntonhj@appstate.edu

Trish Caviness

James Center

RCOE

Appalachian State University

Boone, NC 28608

828-262-7171

cavinessts@appstate.edu

 

John Spagnolo

Technology

RCOE

Appalachian State University

Boone, NC 28608

spagnolojt@appstate.edu

 

Dr. Monica Lambert

RCOE

Appalachian State University 

Boone, NC 28608

828-262-7173 (P)

lambertma@appstate.edu

Ashe County

Holly Roten

English Department
Mountain View Elementary
2789 Highway 221 North
Jefferson, NC 28640
336-982-4200
holly.roten@ashe.k12.nc.us

 

Sandra Peterson

Curriculum Director K-12
Westwood Elementary
4083 US Hwy 221 South
West Jefferson, NC 28694
336-877-2921
sandra.peterson@ashe.k12.nc.us

Jennifer Robinson

Principal at Westwood Elementary 

4083 US Hwy 221 South

West Jefferson, NC 28694

(336) 877-2921

jennifer.robinson@ashe.k12.nc.us

 

Avery County

Ellis Ayers

Cirriculum and Instruction
Avery County Schools
775 Cranberry Street
Newland, NC 28657
828-733-6006
ellisayers@averyschools.net

Tracy Grit

Principal

Banner Elk Elementary

115 Orchard Lane 

Banner Elk, NC 28604

828-737-5700 (P)

tracygrit@averyschools.net

Libby Gragg

College and Scholarships

Avery High School

401 Avery County High School Road 

Newland, NC 28657

828-733-0151 (P)

libbygragg@averyschools.net

Burke County

Donna Duncan

East Burke High
3695 East Burke Boulevard
Connelly Springs, NC 28612
828-397-5541 ext 3121 (P)
dduncan@burke.k12.nc.us

Rexanna Lowman

Middle & High School Edu., Director
Burke County Schools
PO Drawer 989
Morganton, NC 28680
828-439-4337
rplowman@burke.k12.nc.us

Mike Holden

Principal
Liberty Middle
PO Drawer 989
Morganton, NC 28680
828-439-4312
mholden@burke.k12.nc.us

Caldwell County

Katrina McEllen

High School Director
Caldwell County Schools
1914 Hickory Boulevard SW
Lenoir, NC 28645
828-728-8407
kmcellen@caldwellschools.com

Chris Greene

Principal, Granite Falls Middle School
60 North Highland Avenue 
Granite Falls, NC 28630
828-396-2222

cgreene@caldwellschools.com

Kourtney Rabinowitz

English Department
Hibriten High
1350 Panther Trail
Lenoir, NC 28645
828-758-7376
krabinowitz@caldwellschools.com

Elkin County

Cynthia Altemueller

School Support Director
Elkin City Schools
202 West Spring Street
Elkin, NC 28621
336-835-3135
altemuellerc@elkin.k12.nc.us

Pam Colbert

Principal
Elkin Elementary
135 Old Virgina Road
Elkin, NC 28621
336-835-2756
colbertp@elkin.k12.nc.us

 

Heather Gilliam-Wall

Exceptional Children's Department
Elkin High
334 Elkin Spur Street
Elkin, NC 28621
336-835-3858 
gilliam-wallh@elkin.k12.nc.us

Watauga County

Pace Cooper

7th and 8th Grade Science
Mabel Elementary School
404 Mabel School Road

Zionville, NC 28692
828-297-2521
cooperp@wataugaschools.org