Governing Board

The Public School Partnership Governing Board consists of district Superintendents, the Reich College of Education Dean, the College of Arts and Sciences Dean, and the Director or designee of the Northwest Regional Educational Service Alliance (NWRESA). The Board establishes policies within which the Partnership will operate. They meet quarterly each year with additional meetings called when necessary. The Board is also responsible for approving fiscal expenditures. The chairperson will be chosen each year by vote of the Governing Board.

Dr. Larry Putnam

Burke County Schools
700 East Parker Road
Morganton, NC 28608-0989
828-439-4312 (Telephone)
828-439-4314 (Fax)

Dr. Bryan Taylor

Avery County Schools
775 Cranberry Street
Newland, NC 28657
828-733-6006 (Telephone)
828-733-8943 (Fax)

Phyllis Yates

Ashe County Schools
P.O. Box 604
Jefferson, NC 28640

Mr. Mark Byrd

Wilkes County Schools

613 Cherry Street
North Wilkesboro, NC 28659
336-667-1121 (Telephone)

Dr. Steve Stone

Caldwell County Schools
1914 Hickory Blvd. SW
Lenoir, NC 28645
828-728-8407 (Telephone)
828-728-0012 (Fax) (ext. 106) 

Dr. Scott Elliott

Watauga County Schools
175 Pioneer Trail
Boone, NC 28607
828-264-7190 (Telephone)
828-264-7196 (Fax)

Dr. Melba Spooner

College of Education, Dean
Applachian State University
Boone, NC 28608
828-262-2234 (Telephone)

Dr. Joseph Sinclair

NW Regional Education Service Alliance
1700 Winkler Street, Suite 10
Wilkesboro, NC 28697
336-667-2191 (Telephone)
336-667-0503 (Fax) 

Dr. Linda McCalister

ASU Public School Partnership, Director
Appalachian State University
Boone, NC 28608
828-262-6108 (Telephone)
828-262-2128 (Fax) 

Dr. Myra Cox

Elkin City Schools
202 West Spring Street
Elkin, NC  28621

Dr. Jennifer Hefner

Alexander County Sschools
700 Liledoun Road
Taylorsville, NC 28681
828-632-7001 (Telephone)
828-632-8862 (Fax)

Dr. Tracie Salinas

College of Arts and Sciences

Boone, NC 28608


Mr. Chad Beasley

Alleghany County 


Dr. Monica Lambert

College of Education, Associate Dean

Appalachian State University

Boone, NC 28608

828-262-2252 (Telephone)


Dr. Nickolas Jordan

College of Education, Associate Dean

Appalachian State University

Boone, NC 28608